Been there… done that…

I bought a T-shirt the other day.

I really like it. I think it’s cool. It’s called “Damn Scientists” and it is available at Threadless.com

As you may not be able to see from the image the message is as follows

They lied to us
this was supposed to be the future
where is my jetpack,
where is my robotic companion,
where is my dinner in pill form,
where is my hydrogen fuelled automobile,
where is my nuclear powered levitating house,
where is my cure for this disease

I was in two minds whether or not to get it, though. This is simply because the last line of the message is very appropriate for someone with MS and I don’t particularly want to wear my illness as a T-shirt. On the other hand, I do often moan about unadventurous architecture and the fact that we are not all living in mushroom-shaped, monorail-connected cities in the clouds (like the Jetsons).

I know next-to-nothing about the designer, John Slabyk. His overdesigned website (brown text on a dark brown background anyone?) makes it impossible to find out anything useful or interesting about him, so I have no idea what inspired the last line. I hope it is nothing serious.

As you might expect, there are websites making money out of others’ misfortune selling MS T-shirts along the lines of “MS Sucks” etc. I can imagine these being big in the USA along the same lines as the ground zero T-shirts I witnessed in New York in 2002.

Americans are very good at wearing their pain, I guess.

The damn scientists tee makes a more subtle statement, though, and I’d rather it be worn by someone like me  than by someone with nothing uncurable.

anyway here is the link again:

With thanks to Threadless for allowing me to use the text and image.

Leave a Reply

