Sativex to get a licence in the UK

According to the MS Trust, once the wording on the patient information document has been approved, Sativex will be getting NICE approval in the UK as early as this month (April 2010). My neurologist dismissed Sativex at my last yearly meeting, so it will be interesting to see his position in June. I need something extra for my neuropathic pain – Amitryptilline does a fine job but doesn’t always do it for me and I sometimes feel groggy on it (I know, Sativex may have similar side effects, but anything is worth trying, right?).

The MS Trust has a useful document on Sativex

2 thoughts on “Sativex to get a licence in the UK

  1. I am sure you are right given that it is extremely difficult to have it prescribed. It is only available for MS patients who suffer spasms, not those, like me, with neuropathic pain.

Leave a Reply

