Neuro update

I went to see my new neurologist last month at big city hospital. Like my last neuro, he is another twinkly eyed, amiable bloke. My last neuro- has a vastly increased workload apparently. Either that or he’s too wrapped up in his trials and research (which I have consistently turned down the chance to take part in).

The consultation involved him muttering about registrars not being up to their jobs, simultaneously finding a supposedly missing reflex in my arm and striking through some notes in my file.

I asked him about the permanence of my doublevision in the inevitable Q and A.

It seems that it probably is permanent, but you never know…

Lightning can strike twice in MS, in terms of the parts of the brain it affects. I know this from what I have read online and in literature. This is why you tend to get the same symptoms re-appearing over and over in relapses and the gradual worsening of symptoms over time.

With this in mind, apparently a future relapse could involve the formation of a lesion in a similar part of the brain stem which caused my doublevision in the first place (get this…) cancelling out the first lesion and setting my vision straight again.

That’s something to look forward to, eh?

When I reported back regarding my local orthoptist’s opinions regarding corrective lenses, he seemed skeptical, promising to get a second opinion from the big city hospital opthalmology department.

That was nearly two months ago, now. I still haven’t heard anything.

Leave a Reply

