Relapse

Just thought I’d let y’all know that I had a relapse in the last couple of months.

It mainly involved vertigo and dizziness, so I spent a good couple of weeks crashing into things, nearly falling over, feeling nauseous and actually vomiting a few times. It also involved some fatigue, L’Hermitte’s and a not unpleasant hot sensation near my right ankle.

GP reckoned it was labyrinthitis to start with, so he gave me some drugs for that, to see if they worked even though my MS history has been peppered by vertigo. They didn’t, of course, so instead of going back to him, I went to my neurologist. One Dix-Hallpike manouevre later to eliminate BPPV and my first relapse for three years was confirmed.

I was prescribed steroids, but I didn’t take them in the end as I felt I was getting better and I didn’t fancy a week of the side effects.

Thinking about my GP, I asked my neuro about the possibility of an ear infection…

“Can you hear that?” rubbing his finger tips together next to my right ear.

“Yes.”

“And that?” next to my left ear, this time.

“Yes.”

“Do your ears hurt?”

“No.”

“Then it’s not an ear infection.”

So there you go. It was inflammation of the balance centres in the brain stem apparently. I’m very much better than I was, though I did have a funny turn yesterday so I reckon it’s there in the background somewhere.

Leave a Reply

