DVLA update #4 (complaint #2)

Hi

I’m really not a serial complainer, and to do so makes me feel somewhat uncomfortable, but this is the second time I have felt the need to complain about the way my licence renewal has been handled this time round.

My driving licence ran out at the end of March 2012 and since your first contact I have filled out four identical or near-identical forms dealing with my medical condition and my fitness to drive. I complained after the first three forms, to which you sent me an apology for an unspecified admin error for which I’m grateful.

It has now been three weeks since I sent off the latest form. As the DVLA always give me three weeks grace to reply before the threat of revoking my licence, I thought it appropriate that I contact you now.

I want to register the fact that it has taken an excessive amount of time to process my renewal. A conservative estimate says that it is in the region of four months since I sent you my initial form. Since my first complaint, nine weeks ago, I have received a letter telling me that it could take up to six weeks for you to contact my neurologist. AFTER that six week period you sent me another form regarding my doublevision. Why you didn’t sent me that letter and form at the same time as the other one, I don’t know.

The impression that you’re leaving me with, is that the working methods of the medical group are woefully inefficient.

Once this process is over and I receive my new licence, I know I’ll breathe a huge sigh of relief and think “that’s it for another three years,” but why should this be so? Why should I expect the DVLA to make a mess of my renewal each and every time it comes up? Surely that’s an unacceptable state of affairs and one that should be addressed. I never have a problem renewing my tax disc online, so maybe you could look into moving the renewal process online. It would save a lot of stress for people like me and no doubt make life easier at your end too.

As I said before, I’m not a complainer, but I will complain when I feel moved enough to do so. I know I’m not alone. My MS peer group have reported similar problems to me in the past and the nurses at the hospital have warned me about potential problems with the DVLA before, so you already have a reputation.

Please, can you speed up my renewal and then start looking into making efficiencies in the way you work? I’m not too badly off healthwise compared to others, but this might change and you need to remember that you are dealing with some of the most vulnerable people in our society. People who could be socially isolated or unable to work without their driving licence.

One thought on “DVLA update #4 (complaint #2)

Leave a Reply

