It’s been a while..

I knew I hadn’t updated this blog for ages but I didn’t realise the last time I had anything to say was September 2015.

I’ve been busy caring for an elderly relative (now in residential care) and editing a poetry journal (now resigned), so I’ve either been exhausted or lacking the will and free time to exert myself with anything less pressing unfortunately.

My MS could also be described, to nick Viv Stanshall’s genius description of Rawlinson End, as ‘changing, yet changeless as canal water’, so it might be a year or two before I realise that anything has changed significantly enough to report on.

So what’s new? Three things mainly…

Firstly, I had a relapse involving optic neuritis about a year ago which kicked me into safe mode for a few weeks and I took some time off work. It’s a symptom that hasn’t really bothered me much for over ten years so for it to kick in was a bit of a shock (and painful to start with). All better now apart from a bit of noise in my vision.

Secondly, I’ve lost a stone in weight. I asked my GP to refer me to my local council-run sports centre a while back to try and get myself in shape. I didn’t have the time to do that, though, as already described, so I just put myself on a strict diet of my own devising. This seems to have worked. I’ve also recently taken to waking up at 5am to go for a run round my local neighbourhood (just a couple of miles each time). It’s a good time of year to do this as you have to keep moving to avoid freezing solid. The only other people around at 5am are milkmen, gritter drivers and people who either commute long distances or care about their careers too much, scraping the ice off their windscreens.

Thirdly, I was referred to my big city hospital’s urology department to sort my rapidly deteriorating bladder problems which were a massive drain (‘scuse the pun) on my quality of life.

I’ll cover the last two points in forthcoming posts – bet you can’t wait.

Until then…

2 thoughts on “It’s been a while..

    • Well, it’s probably more accurate to describe it as a mile of gentle jogging, followed by two thirds of a mile of a sort of run/shuffle and a final half mile of jelly legs. So long as the heart rate’s up, although I haven’t been out for eight days due to a painful knee.

Leave a Reply

