Inner spaceman

I don’t really do social media for the good of my mental health (apart from sharing pictures of my cats on Instagram), but it seems that MonSter Awareness Week has rolled around again, and this year the hashtag appears to be #MSUnfiltered which is a way for people to let loose and tell their stories in all their ugly messy glories.

And why not?

There’s nothing better than letting off steam and comparing stories with other MSers. Particularly when we compare the misdeeds of our live-in MonSters. No-one gets it like we do.

Anyway, as well as social media, I don’t normally do MonSter Awareness week either. But this year I thought I’d have a change and contribute by sharing some images that I obtained from recent MRI scans.

MRIs and hospital imaging are a great way to be an explorer. I’m never going to explore the ocean deeps or outer space, but I can explore inner space.

Look away now if the internal gubbins of a human body offends or disturbs you because here come images that depict the realms of the MonSter.

If you look closely enough you can see the claw and bite marks of the MonSter showing up as light grey scars (scleroses) or spots in the white matter of my brain and spinal cord.

Look out for the cerebellum, optic nerve and brain stem as obvious structures, and the fact that some of my discs have degenerated with age between the vertebrae.

Leave a comment